top of page

WEEK 1

First visit to the Sanctuary for Independent Media


The Sanctuary for Independent Media is a non-profit organization located in Troy, NY.


When I first stepped into the sanctuary, the nature lab caught my attention. The display of photographs and objects of nature were artistically pleasing.

At the main area, I met new people from different backgrounds that worked together as a team.


I learned that an intern from RPI made podcasts for a radio station at the sanctuary. She showed me the booths and the microphones that she used to record her and an invited scientist for interview. She also informed me about her projects involving nature, such as water testing in local houses. She explained about the high amount of lead found in the water that locals were drinking from.


Moreover, another intern told me about the gardens that they began to grow. The organization bought an abandoned piece of land to grow food for the community as the surrounding environment was like a "food desert." It was fascinating to see all the fruits and plants grow from a land that no one once wanted or cared for.


Lastly, another interesting place I got to visit was the concert room and the liberty wall. The concert room was located inside the sanctuary. Multiple times, the organization invited the community to join them to enjoy music and entertainment in the concert room. They even had moving cameras with directors to film the entire concert. Also, outside, near the sanctuary, there was a concert stage as well. On the ledge of the stage, there was a tall, wide wall. I was given the information that the wall was built by the volunteers in only 2 days. The most fascinating part of the wall was that it was made of mosaic patters with art and photographs of people. The artistic quality of the wall and the work as a community captivated me.


My first visit to the sanctuary was above my expectations. With the open and free environment I was given, I was given the hope to accomplish anything that I wanted to. I am thrilled of how my STEAM project is going to turn out at the end of the year.



Recent Posts

See All

WEEK 2

I was sick this day and could not go to the Sanctuary for Independent Media.

bottom of page